Roadway Safety Tips
Ten Safety Tips to Consider For:
Teen Safety Awareness
For Motor Vehicles:
- Buckle up! In 2006, 44 teens were killed in passenger vehicles involved in motor vehicle crashes in Massachusetts. Almost two thirds of those killed were not buckled up.
- Limit the number of passengers in your car. Driving requires 100% of your attention. The law restricts whom you may drive with in the first 6 months of having a license because passengers often act as a distraction.
- Crashes can happen in a split second. A split second is the time it takes to change the radio station, turn to speak to a friend, text a message, etc.
- Avoid cell phone use while driving. Make phone calls before starting the car or after arriving at your destination. Try to limit your phone use to emergency purposes only.
- Take turns at low speeds. Turning onto side streets or into driveways at an appropriate and safe speed prevents rollovers, travel into opposing traffic lanes and injuries to bicyclists and pedestrians.
- Practice driving in bad weather with your parents/guardians before attempting to do it alone.
- Speeding is against the law and may lead to crashes, tickets, injuries, and even death. Your first speeding ticket will cost the amount of the ticket plus a $500 reinstatement fee, plus a 90 day loss of license that requires you to take a driver attitudinal training course.
- Alcohol and drugs greatly affect judgment and decrease reaction time. Massachusetts is a zero tolerance state, and a single conviction can affect you for the rest of your life.
- Always let someone know where you are going.
- Make sure you are aware of new laws.
For example, it is against the law for those under 18 to drive between 12:30 AM and 5:00 AM unless accompanied by a legal guardian or a parent.